Use of National Guidelines in Clinical Settings

Image result for national guidelines for pediatrics

Currently I am doing my clinical rotations with a Pediatrician. At my current clinical setting, I have seen the use national guidelines; my preceptor mostly uses guidelines for prevention and management of obesity for children and adolescents, management of asthma, and Immunization guidelines for children by Centers of Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Implementation of evidence-based proven recommendations in clinical practice helps improve quality care of patients and also help improve the quality of clinical decisions.

I have accessed the national guidelines at my clinical setting by using computer and searching for official websites such as cdc.gov and Nhlbi.gov. Websites that I reviewed this week will be very helpful in my current clinical practice because I can access evidence based proven recommendation for the pediatric population. I see many patients with acute asthma at the clinic; last week I saw many patient with exercise induced asthma. With the use of national guidelines, I can provide evidence based recommendations and help patients manage their asthma symptoms and help them have better quality of life.

My preceptor always recommend and prescribe Vitamin D supplement  for first year of life for breast fed babies, and she recommend and prescribe multivitamin supplement with fluoride after age one. She recommends to the parents that the whole cow milk should be started at 1 year of age , and low-fat (skim or 1%) milk should be used for ages two years and up as recommended by American Academy of Pediatrics. She also share growth chart with every parent and also target her conversation at obesity prevention if there is a risk of obesity. She thoroughly assess for diet, physical activity, and sedentary behaviors at least during well child exam in all children.  Overall, I think that the national guidelines are being followed at my clinical practice.

References:

Guidelines & Recommendations. (2017, February 10). Retrieved May 27, 2017, from https://www.cdc.gov/breastfeeding/recommendations/index.htm

Prevention and management of obesity for children and adolescents. (n.d.). Retrieved May 27, 2017, from https://www.guideline.gov/summaries/summary/47102/prevention-and-management-of-obesity-for-children-and-adolescents

Leave a comment